GCSE Science Trilogy

The AQA Trilogy Science course introduces students to fundamental ideas in scientific theory and helps them learn practical skills through topical investigations. Science is a set of ideas about the material world. The Course includes all the parts of what good science is at GCSE level: whether it be investigating, observing, experimenting or testing out ideas and thinking about them. The way scientific ideas flow through the specification will help to develop a deeper understanding of science. This will involve talking about, reading and writing about science plus the actual doing, as well as representing science in its many forms both mathematically and visually through models. This specification encourages the development of knowledge and understanding in science through opportunities for working scientifically.

The specification covers Biology, Chemistry and Physics. This is a two year course with all the examinations at the end of year 11. Students will sit six examinations, two in Biology, two in Chemistry and two in Physics. Each examination is one hour and fifteen minutes in length and worth 16.7% of the final grade. Students can be entered at either Foundation or Higher tier.

The topics cover within each subject are shown below:-

1. Cell biology
2. Organisation
3. Infection and response
4. Bioenergetics
5. Homeostasis and response
6. Inheritance, variation and evolution
7. Ecology

8. Atomic structure and the periodic table
9. Bonding, structure, and the properties of matter
10. Quantitative chemistry
11. Chemical changes
12. Energy changes
13. The rate and extent of chemical change
14. Organic chemistry
15. Chemical analysis
16. Chemistry of the atmosphere
17. Using resources

18. Energy
19. Electricity
20. Particle model of matter
21. Atomic structure
22. Forces
23. Waves
24. Magnetism and electromagnetism